Call for applications for annual Richard Siegfried Junior Faculty Prize for Academic Excellence

The Richard Siegfried Junior Faculty Prize for Academic Excellence is funded by generous gifts from Alumni to the 2020-2021 Fund for Oneonta and gifts to the College at Oneonta Foundation.

Eligibility: All SUNY Oneonta full-time, junior (non-tenured) faculty.


  1. Recognition of academic excellence, encompassing scholarship and public speaking, and
  2. Public promotion of SUNY Oneonta. 

Selection Criteria:

1.       Statement regarding academic excellence.

2.       Current vita listing published books, articles, chapters, creative activities, presentations, or other scholarly achievements. 

3.       No more than three representative examples of above items that directly relate to the proposed presentation, potentially including representative publications, projects, or presentations.

4.       Title, outline, and summary of proposed presentation, identifying content to be covered, thesis/interpretation, organization, and mode (e.g., slides, PowerPoint, demonstration). 

5.       Explanation of why the topic will interest a general audience and enhance the reputation of the College.  

6.       Statement regarding public speaking experience and style. 

7.       Two letters of support outlining the applicant’s ability to give such a presentation.

Selection Process:  

  1. Evidence of academic achievement such as the publication of books or articles, grants for research or other scholarly endeavors, exhibits, conference presentations, creative achievements, performance events, or works in progress.
  2. Evidence that the applicant can present a significant, interesting, and accessible 45-minute public lecture appropriate to a College and community audience composed of non-specialists. Although the lecture topic should come from the applicant’s scholarship, the proposed presentation must engage and have relevance for a general audience.

Nomination Process:

Faculty nominate themselves, providing all necessary documentation.

Important Dates:

  • Week of Nov. 9, 2020:  Successful applicant will be notified.
  • Evening of Tuesday, Dec. 1, 2020:  Successful applicant will receive the $2,000 prize and deliver a virtual Siegfried Lecture. 

The selection committee includes the Provost, the Academic Deans, and members of the Academic Excellence Committee. The Academic Excellence Committee is comprised of past recipients of the Susan Sutton Smith Prize, Tracy Betsinger (Chair), and Melissa Lavin, as well as past recipients of the Richard Siegfried Prize, Matthew Hendley, Tyra Olstad, Andrew Bottomley, and Daniel Stich.